The state car seat law for Colorado has changed as of August 1, 2010. The new laws gives parents more flexibility in choosing the type of car seat for younger children, and increases the age for mandatory booster seat use. The education phase of the new law will end on August 1, 2011. At that time, a minimum fine of $82 per violation will be required.
Colorado law requires that babies ride in a rear-facing car seat until they are one year of age and at least 20 pounds. Children ages one to four and between 20 and 40 pounds must ride in an appropriate rear- or forward-facing car seat.
Colorado law also requires that children who are over age 4 but under age 8 ride in a forward-facing car seat or a booster car seat, unless they are over 4'9" tall or weigh more than 80 lbs. Children who are not required to be in a car seat or booster seat, but are under 16 years old, must be buckled in a seat belt.