1. Parenting
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:

http://babyproducts.about.com/od/statecarseatlaws/qt/alaskacps.htm

was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

Alaska Child Safety Seat and Seat Belt Laws

By

Alaska law says that a driver may not transport children under 16 in a motor vehicle unless the child is properly secured according to state child passenger safety law. Children who are not yet one year old or who do not yet weigh 20 lbs must be properly secured in a federally approved rear-facing car seat.

For children who weigh more than 20 lbs who are younger than 5 years old, Alaska state law requires that the child be properly secured in a federally approved car seat.

Children who are over 4 years old and less than 8 years old, weigh more than 20 lbs but less than 65 lbs and are shorter than 57 inches tall must ride in a booster seat or other appropriate child restraint system.

If a child is not yet 8 years old but exceeds the height and weight requirements in the preceding paragraph, they may ride in a seatbelt. Once the child is 8 years old, if they do not exceed the height and weight requirements, the driver may decide whether it's appropriate to let the child ride in the seatbelt or continue using a booster seat.

Related Video
Choosing Baby Bottles
  1. About.com
  2. Parenting
  3. Baby Products
  4. Car Seats
  5. State Car Seat Laws
  6. Alaska Car Seat Laws - Child Passenger Safety Laws and Seat Belt Laws in Alaska - State Car Seat Laws

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.